

State of Alabama Personnel Department

www.personnel.alabama.gov

Continuous Announcement

PERSONNEL ASSISTANT II - 10831

Salary: \$31,610.40 - \$54,290.40

Starting salary upon initial appointment to the merit system may be based on various factors.

Announcement Date: April 24, 2024

JOB INFORMATION

The Personnel Assistant II is a permanent, full-time position used by various agencies throughout the state. This is responsible paraprofessional personnel and/or supervisory work of moderate difficulty performing complex personnel transactions.

MINIMUM REQUIREMENT(S)

- For the open-competitive register, a high school diploma or GED and three years of experience in performing personnel transactions within a public sector agency.
- For the promotional register, current, permanent status with the State of Alabama in addition to the qualifications listed above.

NOTE(S)

• College coursework in business administration, human resources, or English from an accredited* college or university may substitute for up to two years of the required experience on a year for year basis. One year of college coursework is equivalent to 30 semester or 45 quarter hours. Applicants must include a transcript or list of coursework and hours if substituting coursework for the required experience.

EXAMINATION

- Open-Competitive to all applicants and Promotional to current state employees in the job classification listed above.
- A Written Multiple Choice Exam will comprise 95% of the applicant's final score for the promotional register, with the remaining 5% being based on the average of the applicant's service ratings for the last three years. Scores from the Written Multiple Choice Exam will comprise 100% of the final score for the open-competitive register.
- The How to Prepare Guide for this examination is available on our website listed above. Please contact State Personnel if you wish to have a guide mailed to you.

HOW TO APPLY

- Complete an Application for Examination Form available at www.personnel.alabama.gov, the above address, or any Alabama Career Center Office.
- Apply on-line, by mail, by fax, or by email at apply@personnel.alabama.gov. Applications will be accepted until further notice. The State Personnel Department is not responsible for late receipt of applications due to mail service or faxing malfunctions.

Except for pretest information provided by State Personnel to all applicants, you should not directly or indirectly obtain information about examinations. If you do, the State Personnel Director may do several things. One, you may not be given an examination. Two, you may be disqualified after an examination. Three, your name may be removed from a register. Or four, your name may not be certified from the register. (Rules of the State Personnel Board, Chapter 670-x-9). According to the Code of Alabama, 36-26-47, a willful violation of exam security is a misdemeanor. Any person who is convicted of this type of misdemeanor will be ineligible for appointment to or employment in a position in State service for a period of five years and, if the person is an officer or employee of the State, will forfeit his or her office or position.

If you know of anyone who has violated this policy, you should contact the Examination Manager at the State Personnel Department.

Applicants hired by the State of Alabama on or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the E-Verify process pursuant to Act No. 2011-535.

State of Alabama Personnel Department

Policy on Accepting College Coursework, Post-Secondary and Advanced Degrees

- 1. Specific college coursework required for a job classification, as well as bachelor's, graduate, post graduate, and doctoral degrees will be accepted from schools accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission (DEAC) or any of the six regional accreditation associations in the United States listed below:
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)
- Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)
- Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC)
- New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)
- Western Association of Schools and Colleges –Senior College and University Commission (WASC-SCUC)

College coursework is defined as credit hours leading to a bachelor's degree or higher.

2. Coursework or degrees from schools that have <u>not</u> been accredited by one of the above accreditation associations <u>may</u> be accepted if a *regionally accredited school** considers the coursework or degree to be an acceptable prerequisite for admission to an advanced degree program. For example, if a regionally accredited school accepts an applicant's bachelor's degree for admittance into a graduate degree program, State Personnel will accept the degree. In the case of required college coursework (but no degree requirement), State Personnel will accept the college coursework if a regionally accredited school accepts the coursework towards a post-secondary degree (e.g., a bachelor's degree). *This must be documented by a letter of acceptance from the regionally accredited school.* State Personnel will review such requests on a case-by-case basis.

Note: This policy is subject to change. Certain state agencies may have additional requirements.

*The term "regionally accredited school" refers to an institution of higher education accredited by one of the six regional accreditation associations listed above.